Wednesday, June 3, 2009


By Roy Luarca
Philippine Daily Inquirer

MANILA, Philippines - Deposed champion Grandmaster Jayson Gonzales downed Chinese International Master Zhang Ziyang in the ninth and final round Sunday to wind up among the best Filipino finishers in the 2009 Subic Open international chess tournament topped by Iranian GM Ehsan Ghaem Maghami.

Gonzales chalked up 5.5 points, 1.5 away from Maghami, who drew with Bangladeshi GM Ziaur Rahman to clinch the title and the $5,000 top purse at the Subic Exhibition and Convention Center.

The victory enabled Gonzales to catch up with compatriots IM Richard Bitoon, IM Julio Catalino Sadorra and GM Mark Paragua as they shared 12th to 22nd places with seven others in the event organized by the National Chess Federation.

Newly crowned Asian Continental champion GM Surya Shekhar Ganguly of India bested compatriot GM Chakkravarthy Deepan to gain a tie for second to eighth spots with 6.5 points.

Bitoon yielded to Indian fifth seed GM Abhijeet Gupta while Sadorra and Paragua settled for a draw with Vietnam's Nguyen Van Huy and China's Yu Yangyi, respectively.

GM Darwin Laylo bowed to IM Jayaram Ashwin of India and IM Oliver Dimakiling lost to GM Parimarjan Negi of India.

Final standings:

7.0 points-E. Ghaem Maghami (Iran); 6.5-D. Xiu (China), K. Yang (China), Z. Rahman (Bangladesh), C. Sandipan (India), N. Nguyen (India), S., Ganguly (India), A. Gupta (India); 6.0-Y. Yu (China), J. Ashwin (India), P. Negi (India); 5.5-T.H. Dao (Vietnam), C., Deepan (India), R. Bitoon (RP), J. Sadorra (RP), C. Arvind (India), S. Megaranto (Indonesia), S. Tania (India), M. Paragua (RP), J. Gonzales (RP), T.S. Nguyen (Vietnam), V. S. Nguyen (Vietnam); 5.0-H. Jia (China), O. Dimakiling (RP), E. Bagamasbad (RP), D. Laylo (RP), H.N. Nguyen (Vietnam), K. Priyadharshan (India), R. Nolte (RP), R. Gao (China), A. Gupta (India), A. Milagrosa (RP), B. Villamayor (RP)

No comments: