Sunday, June 22, 2008


Shell Active Chess Formally Opens With The NCR Leg

Pilipinas Shell Petroleum Corporation Sustainable Development Manager Chito Maniago (seated, right) and Manila City Administrator Jesus Mari Marzan (seated, left) make a ceremonial move to formally open the 16th Shell National Youth Active Chess Championship National Capital Region Leg on June 21, 2008 at SM City Manila. Witnessing the ceremonial move are (standing, left to right) Pilipinas Shell Commercial Fuels & Bitumen Administrative Assistant Laarni Madlangbayan and Chief Arbiter Gene Poliarco.

NCR Leg Winners

Sanctioned by the National Chess Federation of the Philippines, the Shell Active Chess NCR Leg gathered 500 players with Paulo Bersamina of De La Salle Greenhills and Jan Emmanuel Garcia of Ateneo de Manila University emerging as leg champions in the kiddies and juniors division, respectively.

This annual chess tournament that has captured the hearts of young chess players and produced many of the country’s finest grandmasters is backed by Shell Fuels, Shellane, Shell Helix, Shell Rimula, Shell Advance and McDonald’s, in cooperation with SM Supermalls, LCC Mall – Naga, Brickstone Mall – Tuguegarao City and Western Mindanao State University (Zamboanga City).

Ceremonial Move

No comments: